Someone asked me yesterday, in line at the grocery store of all places, where do you come up with the characters for your books?

“Here”, I replied, with a smile. “There. Everywhere.”

I’ve based characters I’ve met at my local mall (now that’s a goldmine!), neighbors, friends, celebrities, even family members. Sometimes a character can have traits–both physical and emotional–in several people who I know. And sometimes a character might come straight from my imagination, like Macy Sinclair in my latest novel, Before the Applause, which is due out this fall.

As writers, where do you come up with your characters? And, readers, do you like it when an author fully describes and fleshes out a character for you in a story or do you prefer that the author leave some of the details to your imagination?

Inquiring minds want to know!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

